• Enquiries and Faults 1800 061 514
  • Water Storages: 91.09%

Board of directors

Our Board sets strategic directions, policy and goals for management.

For more detail on our Board committees please refer to our Annual Report


Jeremy Johnson, Chair

Jeremy Johnson

Jeremy is the Chief Executive Officer of Sovereign Hill, Ballarat. He is Honorary Treasurer of the Council of Australasian Museum Directors, past President of the Board and Executive Council of the Victorian Employers’ Chamber of Commerce and Industry (VECCI) and Chairman of the Victoria Tourism Industry Council.

In 2011 he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Ballarat for his services to the business community. A Justice of the Peace, Jeremy is a qualified Company Secretary and Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia.

Qualifications: Dip (BusSt)

Appointed: 1 July 2010

Janet Dore, Deputy Chair

Janet Dore

Janet is the recently retired Chief Executive Officer of the Transport Accident Commission and has held various executive roles in several local councils during her career.

She is President-elect of the Committee for Ballarat and a Board member at the Institute for Safety, Compensation and Recovery Research, Residential Independence Trust.

Ms Dore has a Master of Business Administration, a Bachelor of Applied Science in Planning and a Diploma of Applied Science in Town Planning.

Appointed: 1 October 2015

Stewart Howe, Director

Stewart Howe

Stewart has 30 years’ experience in the global oil, gas and mining sectors in executive management, operations, mergers and acquisitions and restructuring roles. His career with BP and Zinifex included direction of major investment programs to develop long life natural resource assets, plus directorship of a range of subsidiary and joint venture companies.

For the past six years Stewart has run his own corporate advisory firm, directing restructuring initiatives and investment selection for financiers. He holds non-executive advisory roles and ownership interests in privately owned mining service companies.

Qualifications: BEng (Chem), M (AppFin), FAICD, FFin, FAusIMM(CP)

Appointed: 1 October 2011

Rachel Thomson, Director

Director Rachel Thomson

Rachel has over 20 years' experience internationally and in Australia in senior roles in risk management and insurance. Rachel’s previous role involved analysis of business strategy, financial performance, corporate governance processes and assessment of risk management of Australian and U.S. corporations.

Rachel was also involved in technical product development for Australia and Asia and is  a past member of the risk management board of the Australian entity of a U.S. publicly traded insurance corporation.

She has a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Appointed: 1 October 2015


Pamela Anders, Director

Pamela Anders

Ms Anders is the Director of Public Engagement at Oxfam Australia and previously worked for various Victorian Ministers during her career in the public service.

Ms Anders has a Master of Public Policy and Management, a Bachelor of Arts in Education and a Graduate Certificate in Finance.

Appointed: 1 October 2015


Peter Lelievre, Director

Peter Lelievre

Peter has been a resident of Ballarat all of his adult life and is a very active member of the community in sporting circles. Peter is a life member of two cricket clubs within the Ballarat Cricket Association and is currently coaching juniors within the BCA at club and regional levels.

Peter’s professional experience includes 11 years as CEO in the agricultural sector and a partner in an accounting practice for 15 years specialising in KPI’s, business management and management reporting systems within the family business sector. Peter has extensive experience in strategic planning and is currently contracted to Ballarat based S.J. Weir Commercial Builders and SED Advisory.

Peter holds Fellow designation of CPA Australia and is a member of AICD.

Appointed: 1 October 2015


Marcos Anastassiou, Director

Marcos Anastassiou

Marcos is a Consultant and Project Manager working on structural change at various TAFE institutes.

He has 35 years’ experience in the education sector, including strategic management, teaching and research.

He has been a Director at Western Water and board member at Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority.

Mr Anastassiou has a Masters of Business in Management & Organisation Behaviour, a Master of Arts (prelim), a Master of Urban Planning (prelim), and a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics and Social Science.

Appointed: 1 October 2015


Paul O’Donohue, Managing Director

Paul O’Donohue

Paul is the Managing Director of Central Highlands Water. Since joining the organisation in 2003, he has overseen many key business areas including major project delivery, strategy, long term planning, communications and account management.

Prior to joining Central Highlands Water, Paul held senior management positions in the recreation and hospitality sectors.

Qualifications: BA (Mgt), Dip (Ldrshp), GradDip (BusMgt), GAICD, FIWA

Appointed: July 2012